Food, It’s complicated.

5 Nov

These days it seems everyone’s got an opinion on what you should put in your body. “Low carbs, diary free, gluten free, vegan, no red meat, paleo, Atkins…….”

Personally, I find it all very confusing.  Both Chris and I lead an active lifestyle. We don’t eat fast food or anything out of a cardboard box. We’ve tried to cut down on carbs: We don’t ever eat pasta, and generally try to limit our consumption of bread products. That being said, I work for Nestle….Comeon!  Every once in a while I need a ‘Break’. Does that make me a bad, unhealthy, irresponsible person? No. It doesn’t.

I’ve read a lot of books on the topic of nutrition; most of which just end up giving me suggestions that completely conflict messages from the previous book I’ve read.  Alas, I want to be as healthy as possible. “Abs are made in the kitchen” …. yes, I partially agree. If I eat a handful of chips during the day I can definitely feel it later on. I have noticed that eating clean has increased my energy and overall ‘well-being’.  And since I’ve consciously tried to cut out foods high in saturated fat, the thought of a big greasy burger has become unappetizing to me.  That being said I love red meat. Love with a capitol ‘L’.  In fact, I truly believe I crave it.  So, just when I thought steak and potatoes for the rest of my life was safe, I read and hear experts preach that red meat can cause heart disease and cancer, not to mention the fat.  (Comeon! I ditched the frozen lasagna in a box! Cut me some slack here!). Ok, Ok. So cut down on the red meat. (Maybe steak every other night?!…) So, what next?

Organic. This word intimidates me. It sounds pretentious, and unattainable. Everything I read says Organic. Eat Organic. The organic option sounds nice, and if I could get everything on my shopping list grown organically, for the same price, I would totally do it. But the truth of the matter is it’s expensive. And I don’t have time to go to the farmers market every other night.

The more I’ve thought about the food I eat, the more I appreciate how incredible my body is at digesting well,  just about anything. Think about it- the human body can run off of almost anything organic you injest. People’s bodies all over the world function and adapt to completely different fuel. What other machine can do this?!

I guess the point I’m trying to make is that the more I read, the more I realize that everyone’s body is completely different. When I cut out dairy and cut down on my wheat intake, I felt healthier. Trial and error have helped me understand my body.  I now eat salad everyday for lunch, 4 eggs and black coffee for breakfast and usually meat and a veggie + salad for dinner. I go to the gym almost everyday and try to lead a healthy lifestyle. All the books in the world won’t supply the magical diet or plan that’s right for me- I’ve just got to test the waters and find a diet and weight that I feel healthiest at… which really doesn’t narrow anything down at all now that I think about it…

If you have any thoughts or suggestions, please feel free to share. :)

Have something to share? Leave a Reply.

