Juice Cleansing and Eating Healthy: My Journey

27 Aug

I know what you’re thinking, ‘…not another juice cleanse- crazy person’. No really, I’m actually with you.

Feeling extremely exhausted, sick, grumpy and unmotivated, I recently decided to make a dietary change.  Leading up to this decision, my fatigue was so severe that I was almost falling asleep during the work day, required (almost) a cattle prod to get out of bed in the morning, and was fast asleep by 8:00pm. The fatigue made me moody, irritable, and anxious. I knew I had to do something but what? …I was already at the gym during the week and always ate home cooked meals. Searching for an answer I read. And I read, and I read. Everyone has a cure or solution.

I decided four things:

1. I needed to cut out dairy.  I’m fairly certain I’m lactose intolerant.  Although the extreme stomach pain I suffer after a delicious glass of chocolate milk was almost worth it. I love milk.

2. I needed to nix the gluten. This whole ‘gluten-free’ fad seems to have gotten a bit out of hand. But hey, I had read a lot and want to give it a shot.

3. I need a detox. Giving my body a break from processing food may help to ‘re-boot’ my system. Sounds like a gimmick, I know.

4. Steak every night probably isn’t the best choice. Mmm steak…

So I cut out dairy, large quantities of red meat and gluten. I’ve been making healthy morning smoothies, salads for lunch, and healthy, home cooked meals at suppertime. The results have been surprising- I already have WAY more energy, I feel healthy and just generally ‘better’ and cleaner.

Now for the detox: I’ve decided to try a three day (and perhaps longer if it helps!) juice cleanse. I’m following Joe Cross’s dietary suggestions (have you seen his documetary Fat, Sick and Nearly Dead!? I will post it below- it’s a MUST watch.) and tried my first liquid meal this evening, before my dinner (salad). It was amazing!

My first juice:
-One sweet potato
-One carrot
-Three beets
-two Golden Delicious Apples
-one bell pepper

4_070_JuiceCleanse_OneSheet_608

Check out the documentary here: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=zD8e4Mg3NFU

Wish me luck… I’ll let you know how it goes!

Off to the gym.

-Jess

Have something to share? Leave a Reply.

